currently reading...
Local Candidates in Metro Manila (2010 Elections)

Local Candidates 2010: Caloocan City

Click here for election results for Caloocan City


The only city in Metro Manila (and possibly the world) split into two non-contiguous areas is home to two classic political feuds: Echiverri vs Baby Asistio, and Malonzo vs Boy Asistio.

Recom Echiverri is seeking a third and final term as Mayor, but in his way once again is Luis “Baby” Asistio, his 2007 opponent. Echiverri’s running-mate is former 1st District Rep. Edgar Erice, while Asistio has the returning former Mayor Rey Malonzo. Also running for Vice Mayor, as an Independent, is former Mayor Macario “Boy” Asistio, a well-known rival of Malonzo.

Over the past three decades, three of the four men above have been elected as Mayor of Caloocan City. Boy Asistio was Mayor 1980 to 1986, and from 1988 to 1995. Malonzo was Vice Mayor from 1992 to 1995, and Mayor from 1995 until 2004. Echiverri was the 2nd District Representative from 1998 to 2004, then is the current Mayor since 2004. Baby Asistio, meanwhile, was 1st District Representative from 1992 to 2001, and from 2004 to 2007.

Outgoing Vice Mayor Luis Tito Varela runs for Representative of the 1st District, and faces incumbent Rep. Oscar Malapitan. Incumbent 2nd District Rep. Mary Mitzi Cajayon [Lakas-KAMPI-CMD] faces tough competition in her re-election bid, as seven candidates also run for Representative.

Names in italics are candidates running for re-election.

NPC Others
Mayor Enrico

Vice Mayor Edgar Erice
Reynaldo Malonzo
Macario Asistio, Jr.
Cherry Vallega [KBL]
Mariano Yu
1st District
Vice Mayor
Luis Tito Varela
Oscar Malapitan [NP]
Ernesto Adalem
Coun. Gualberto Bacolod
Roberto Guanzon
Jaime Regalario
1st District
Roberto Cruz
Andres Mabagos
Nora Nubla
Dante Prado
Susana Punzalan
Ramon Te

Henry Cammayo
Ireneo Cayetano
NP: Andrew Asistio
NP: Isaac Domingo
NP: Dale Malapitan
NP: Crispin Peña, Sr.
Lks-Kam: Cenon Mayor
Joseph Aquino
Rasty Benson
Jesus Budac, Jr.
Emmanuel Cruz
Leonardo dela Cruz
Garth Gollayan
Rodolfo Gonzaga
Cristina Guino-o
Virgilio Luzares
Germel Perit
Amie Rabas
Jimmy Sanchez
Loney Sapdin
Juan Antonio Trillanes
Jamin Tulbo
Oscar Benedict Vallejo
Fernando Vinoya
2nd District
John Santos Antonio Almeda [NP]
Mary Mitzi Cajayon
Carlos Cabochan [AKP]
Adoracion Garcia [PGRP]
Tany Catacutan
Enrique Cube
Coun. Milagros Mercado
2nd District
Luis Chito Abel
Allen Alex Aruelo
Tolentino Bagus
Marjorie Barretto
Carolyn Cunanan
Arnold Divina
NP: Roseller Arcadio
NP: Aries Mapue
NP: Merville Orozco
NP: Serafico Placer
NP: Nestor Samson
Lks-Kam: Norlando Divina
Lks-Kam: Trinidad Repuno
Lks-Kam: Ronald Romero
Lks-Kam: Roberto Samson
Lks-Kam: Joseph Timbol
PMP: Macario Asistio III
AKP: Alvin Abelardo
KBL: Romeo Luz, Jr.
Tito Herminio Diño
Jose Gonzales
Arlan Gurnot
Melvin Manalaysay
Jaime Mataragnon, Sr.
Jerrboy Mauricio
Roehl Nadurata
Robert Lee Vitug

Kindly state corrections, if there are any, at the comments section below.



4 thoughts on “Local Candidates 2010: Caloocan City

  1. Bobby Guanzon for congressman of 1st district Caloocan!

    Posted by Cora | May 7, 2010, 6:44 AM

    Posted by Rene | May 7, 2010, 6:46 AM
  3. vote straight recom team, tito,recom,at egay na yan!

    Posted by efren adamos | May 10, 2010, 6:21 PM
  4. Dear Mayor Echeveri,

    Pls check your staff they are doing transactions under the table marami silang mangungurakot sa city hall masyado thousand kung tumira at face to face kung manghingi ng lagay , sana maalis na ang ganitong systema para naman umasenso ang Pinas.

    Pls investigate at mag padla ng di nila kilala and try what will happen then you will to know.

    Posted by marissa aguilar | May 11, 2010, 9:32 PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: