currently reading...
2010 Elections

2010 Elections: The Candidates [UPDATED]

On December 16, 2009, the COMELEC came up with the official list of national candidates (for President, Vice President and Senator) for the upcoming 2010 Elections on May 10, 2010. There were eight candidates for President, eight for Vice President and 58 for Senator in the said list.

But, on January 14, 2010, the COMELEC, via Resolution 8714, included two more candidates for the Presidency (Nicanor Perlas and Vetallano Acosta Jesus), and four more in the list of Senatorial candidates (Danilo Lim, Nannete Espinosa, Adz Nikabulin and Emilio Osmena).

On March 4, COMELEC removed Acosta from the Presidential race, and declared him a nuisance candidate “with no agenda and capability to run a national campaign.”

There are now nine candidates for President, eight for Vice President and 62 for Senator.

for President (9):
* Sen. Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III [Liberal Party]
* John Carlos “JC” delos Reyes [Ang Kapatiran Party]
* former Pres. Joseph “Erap” Estrada [Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino]
* Sen. Richard Gordon [Bagumbayan Volunteers for a New Philippines Party]
* Sen. Maria Ana Consuelo “Jamby” Madrigal [Independent]
* environmentalist Nicanor “Nicky” Perlas [Independent]
* former Defense Sec. Gilbert “Gibo” Teodoro [Lakas-KAMPI-CMD]
* Bro. Eddie Villanueva [Bangon Pilipinas Movement]
* Sen. Manuel “Manny” Villar [Nacionalista Party]

for Vice President (8):
* Makati City Mayor Jejomar Binay [United Opposition-PMAP]
* Dominador Chipeco, Jr. [Ang Kapatiran Party]
* Sen. Lorna Regina “Loren” Legarda [Nationalist People’s Coalition (guest candidate, NP)]
* Bayani Fernando [Bagumbayan Volunteers for a New Philippines Party]
* Edu Manzano [Lakas-KAMPI-CMD]
* Sen. Manuel “Mar” Roxas II [Liberal Party]
* Jay Sonza [Kilusang Bagong Lipunan]
* Perfecto Yasay [Bangon Pilipinas Movement]

for Senator (62):
* former Rep. Nereus Acosta [Liberal Party]
* Shariff Albani [Kilusang Bagong Lipunan]
* Zafrullah Alonto [Bangon Pilipinas Movement]
* Sanlakas Rep. JV Bautista [Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino]
* Dr. Martin Bautista [Liberal Party]
* Cabinet Sec. Silvestre Bello III [Lakas-KAMPI-CMD]
* Rep. Rozzano Rufino “Ruffy” Biazon [Liberal Party]
* Yasmin Busran-Lao [Liberal Party]
* Henry Caunan [PDP-LABAN]
* Sen. Pia Cayetano [Nacionalista Party]
* Rizalito David, social scientist [Ang Kapatiran Party]
* Jose “Joey” de Venecia III [Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino]
* Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago [People’s Reform Party; guest candidate, NP and UNO]
* former Sen. Franklin Drilon [Liberal Party]
* Senate Pres. Juan Ponce Enrile [Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino]
* Nanette Espinosa [Kilusang Bagong Lipunan]
* Sen. Jinggoy Estrada [Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino]
* Binalonan Mayor Ramon Guico, Jr. [Lakas-KAMPI-CMD]
* Bukidnon Rep. Teofisto Guingona III [Liberal Party]
* AKBAYAN Rep. Riza Hontiveros-Baraquel [guest candidate, LP]
* Jo Aurea Imbong, lawyer [Ang Kapatiran Party]
* Alma Lood [Kilusang Bagong Lipunan]
* Ma. Katherine Luningning “Kata” Inocencio [Bangon Pilipinas Movement]
* Alexander Lacson, book author [Liberal Party]
* Raul Lambino [Lakas-KAMPI-CMD]
* Reynante “Rey” Langit, broadcaster [Lakas-KAMPI-CMD]
* Sen. Manuel “Lito” Lapid [Lakas-KAMPI-CMD]
* Brig. Gen. Danilo Lim
* former Rep. Apolinario Lozada [Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino]
* Regalado Maambong [Kilusang Bagong Lipunan]
* Rep. Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos, Jr. [Nacionalista Party, adopted by KBL]
* Gabriela Rep. Lisa Maza [Nacionalista Party]
* Maria Judea Millora [Kilusang Bagong Lipunan]
* Ramon Mitra [Nacionalista Party]
* Adz Nikabulin [Bangon Pilipinas Movement]
* Ramoncito Ocampo, lawyer [Bangon Pilipinas Movement]
* Bayan Muna Rep. Satur Ocampo [Nacionalista Party]
* Susan “Toots” Ople [Nacionalista Party]
* former Cebu Gov. Emilio Mario Osmeña
* former Sen. Sergio Osmeña III
* BANTAY Rep. Jovito Palparan Jr.
* Imelda Papin [Kilusang Bagong Lipunan]
* Zosimo Paredes, lawyer [Ang Kapatiran Party]
* Gwendolyn Pimentel-Gana [PDP-LABAN, also in NP slate]
* Maria Gracia Piñozo-Plazo [Ang Kapatiran Party]
* Agusan del Sur Rep. Rodolfo Plaza [Nationalist People’s Coalition]
* Reynaldo Princesa [Bangon Pilipinas Movement]
* Col. Ariel Querubin (retired) [Nacionalista Party]
* former Sen. Ralph Recto [Liberal Party]
* former Cavite Rep. Gilbert Remulla [Nacionalista Party]
* Sen. Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. [Lakas-KAMPI-CMD, guest under NP, PMAP and LDP]
* Sonia Roco [guest candidate, Liberal Party]
* Adrian Sison, consumer advocate [Ang Kapatiran Party]
* former Sen. Tito Sotto [Nationalist People’s Coalition]
* Adel Tamano, lawyer [Nacionalista Party]
* Reginald Tamayo, Councilor [Ang Kapatiran Party]
* Hector Tarrazona, educator [Ang Kapatiran Party]
* Francisco Tatad [Grand Alliance for Democracy]
* Alexander Tinsay, broadcaster [Bangon Pilipinas Movement]
* Manuel Valdehueza, Jr., former UN Executive [Ang Kapatiran Party]
* Hector Villanueva [Kilusang Bagong Lipunan]
* Israel Virgines [Bangon Pilipinas Movement]

Source: http://newsinfo.inquirer.net/breakingnews/nation/view/20100114-247277/Perlas-Lim-on-Comelec-list-of-2010-bets




2 thoughts on “2010 Elections: The Candidates [UPDATED]

  1. I have noticed you don’t monetize your website, don’t waste your traffic, you can earn extra
    cash every month because you’ve got high quality content.

    If you want to know how to make extra $$$, search for: best adsense alternative Wrastain’s tools

    Posted by 86Ashley | August 27, 2017, 7:20 PM


  1. Pingback: 2010 Elections: The Candidates « The Stand: 2010 Elections - December 22, 2009

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: