currently reading...
2010 Elections

CoC Filings Day Four

November 23. Day Four of the official filing of Certificates of Candidacy (CoC) for those running for elective positions in the 2010 National and Local Elections on May 10, 2010.

As of 12:00 PM today, fifteen presidential hopefuls — all of which are not very well-known — have filed their CoC’s. Two CoC’s were not accepted due to lack of requirements. There have also been one candidate for Vice President, and three for Senator.

At the end of the day, the number of Presidential candidates went up to 17, as an 81-year old preacher and — finally, a big name — JC delos Reyes [2] of Ang Kapatiran Party filed their CoC’s before 5:00 PM. Delos Reyes was joined by some of his Senatorial candidates.

On these dates, the mentioned candidates will file their CoC’s”

November 28 – Sens. Noynoy Aquino and Mar Roxas

November 30 – Sen. Manny Villar | Joseph Estrada and Jejomar Binay

November 26 – Liberal Party proclamation rally in Tarlac

November 29 – Nacionalista Party proclamation rally in Tondo

Confirmed in UNO’s senatorial slate are: Senators Juan Ponce Enrile, Jinggoy Estrada and Miriam Defensor-Santiago (as guest candidate), Joey de Venecia III and Grace Poe-Llamanzares.

Confirmed in Liberal Party’s senatorial slate are: former Sens. Franklin Drilon and Sergio Osmeña III, Ralph Recto, Muntinlupa Rep. Ruffy Biazon, Bukidnon Rep. Teofisto Guingona III, Akbayan’s Risa Hontiveros , former Rep. Nereus Acosta, Sonia Roco, and detained Brig. Gen. Danilo Lim.

Senator Chiz Escudero is set to announce his political plans tomorrow (Tuesday) at the Club Filipino at exactly 8:00 AM. It was reported many a times here that a reliable source had stated that Escudero will run for Vice President as an independent. However, the Liberal Party is still wooing Escudero to join them.

The House of Representatives has passed a bill creating 10 new legislative districts, to address the large representative-to-constituents ratio per district. As a result, the number of Congressmen in the House will go up to 282, including 56 party-list representatives (or one-fourth of the 226 district representatives), after the 2010 Elections.

* The Malabon-Navotas District will now be split between the two cities.
* The City of Bulacan will now be a separate legislative district, apart from the first District of Bulacan. [Bulacan will now have five representatives.]
* The towns of Dasmariñas, Bacoor and Imus will now be separate districts. Bacoor was a part of the First District of Cavite, while Dasmariñas and Imus were of the Second District.
* Camarines Norte will be split into two districts.
* Camarines Sur’s First District will be split into two.
* The City of Lapu-Lapu will now be a separate legislative district, apart from the Sixth District of Cebu. Consequently, Mandaue City of the Sixth will probably be its own legislative district.
* Finally, Iligan City will be a separate legislative district, apart from the First District of Lanao del Norte.

We will have more on these in a future posts regarding representative-to-constituents ratio.

* COMELEC is urging all party-list groups running for Congress seats to name their nominees and make it public for the 2010 Elections. Meanwhile, there are now 25 party-lists who will participate in the elections, as of 12:00PM today.



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: