currently reading...
2010 Elections

Pangilinan confirms VP run | Estrada allowed to run again?

In the news as of late:

Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan has declared his intention to run for Vice President. He will run as an independent, and plans to leave the Liberal Party soon.


Former President Joseph Estrada said that he will decide in two to three months time whether he will run for President or not . His legal team are also studying the possibility of him running again, despite the Constitution’s ban regarding the re-elections of former and current Presidents to the same post. The issue is up to the Supreme Court to decide.

The text below is the first paragraph in Article VII, Section 4 of the 1987 Constitution:

The President and the Vice-President shall be elected by direct vote of the people for a term of six years which shall begin at noon on the thirtieth day of June next following the day of the election and shall end at noon of the same date, six years thereafter. The President shall not be eligible for any re-election. No person who has succeeded as President and has served as such for more than four years shall be qualified for election to the same office at any time.


Here’s an updated list of the Front-runners, that is the names of the possible candidates for the national positions (President, Vice President, Senator) in 2010.

Confirmed/Reported to run for President:

  • Makati Mayor Jejomar Binay
  • Vice President Noli de Castro
  • Former President Joseph Estrada
  • MMDA Chairman Bayani Fernando
  • Senator Panfilo Lacson
  • Senator Loren Legarda
  • Senator Mar Roxas
  • Defense Secretary Gilbert Teodoro
  • religious leader Bro. Eddie Villanueva
  • Senator Manny Villar

Confirmed/Reported to run for Vice President:

  • Senator Francis Pangilinan

Other “Front-runners”:

  • Quezon City Mayor Feliciano Belmonte
  • Senator Francis Escudero
  • Senator Richard Gordon
  • Pampanga Governor Ed Panlilio
  • Batangas Governor Vilma Santos
  • TESDA Chairman Augusto Syjuco


As another reminder to first-time voters, we have until October 31, 2009 to register for the 2010 General Elections.



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: